"The Old Order Changeth!"


Main Details
Volume 1
Issue 16
Date 1965-05
Location of Publication New York, New YorkUSA
Genre Superhero
Format Softcover
Type Comic Book
Page Count 32
Language English
  • Captain America (Steve Rogers)
  • Hawkeye (Clint Barton) (Joins team)
  • Quicksilver (Pietro Maximoff) (Joins team)
  • Scarlet Witch (Wanda Maximoff) (Joins team)
  • Thor (Thor Odinson) (Leaves team)
  • Iron Man (Tony Stark) (Leaves team)
  • Giant-Man (Hank Pym) (Leaves team)
  • Wasp (Janet Van Dyne) (Leaves team)
  • Supporting Characters:
  • Rick Jones
  • Edwin Jarvis
  • Harold "Happy" Hogan
  • Hulk (Bruce Banner) (Cameo)
  • Antagonists:
  • The Masters of Evil:
  • Black Knight (Nathan Garrett) (Leaves team)
  • Melter (Bruno Horgan) (Leaves team)
  • Executioner (Skurge) (Leaves team)
  • Enchantress (Amora) (Leaves team)
  • Kang the Conqueror (Nathaniel Richards)(Cameo)
  • Mole Man
  • Immortus (Nathaniel Richards) (Cameo)
  • Other Characters:
  • Black Widow (Natasha Romanoff) (Only in flashback)
  • Sub-Mariner (Prince Namor)
  • Virginia "Pepper" Potts
  • X-Men (Only in flashback):
  • Iceman (Bobby Drake) (Only in flashback)
  • Angel (Warren Worthington) (Only in flashback)
  • Beast (Hank McCoy) (Only in flashback)
  • Magneto
  • Toad
  • Mastermind
Story Location Amazon Jungle; Caruca, Atlantic Ocean, Switzerland (First appearance), Unidentified dimension, Asgard (Mentioned), New York: New York City; Manhattan
Notes This issue begins with a direct continuation of the action from last issue, with most of the Avengers battling the rest of the Masters of Evil in New York while Cap and Rick Jones make their escape from the South American rain forest.
After their defeat at the hands of the Avengers, the Melter and Black Knight are next seen in Fantastic Four Annual 3 where they are manipulated by Doctor Doom into crashing the wedding of Reed Richards and the Susan Storm.
After the Masters of Evil are defeated, Thor, Enchantress, and The Executioner all return to Asgard where they take part in the "Trial of the Gods" that begins in Journey Into Mystery 116.
All the founding members of the Avengers (Thor, Giant Man, Wasp and Iron Man) take a leave of absence in this issue.
Iron Man appears next in Tales of Suspense 65 where he battles Weasel Wills, a crook who steals a copy of his original armor.
Giant Man and Wasp will appear next in Tales to Astonish 67 where they battle the Hidden Man.
Hawkeye joins the Avengers this issue. He was last seen in Tales of Suspense #64 where he and the Black Widow got into combat with Iron Man. Black Widow is seen next in Avengers #29 where she teams up with Power Man and Swordsman to fight against the Avengers.
Scarlet Witch and Quicksilver were last seen in Strange Tales #128.They had earlier quit the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants following Magneto's being captured by the Stranger in Uncanny X-Men #11.
Every active Avenger are next seen in Avengers 17 in which their search for Hulk leads them into a trap by Mole Man.
The Avengers' butler is not given an actual name in this story, although future retrospective issues will make clear that it is indeed Edwin Jarvis.
references: Avengers #15, Journey into Mystery #116, Tales of Suspense #57, X-Men
Hawkeye is very respectful to his team-mates in this issue. He will transform into a brash malcontent beginning next issue.
This cover is homaged in Mighty Avengers #13. The heroes and villains on the cover are all portrayed as Skrulls for Marvel's "Secret Invasion" storyline.
This issue begins a tradition of the Avengers line-up being drastically revamped periodically (usually with a story titled with some variation on the phrase "the old order changeth." It will also begin a long tradition of reformed supervillains being inducted as members. Future adversaries-turned-Avengers will include the Swordsman, the Black Widow, the Vision, Moondragon, Wonder Man, Jocasta, Sub-Mariner, Sandman, and Firestar among others.


Login or Register to post a comment